This article was published in the Lenoir News-Topic.

The Caldwell County Schools hired three new administrators on Thursday: a new principal for West Lenoir Elementary School, and new assistant principals for Hibriten High School and Whitnel Elementary School.

Kristy Hollar, the current assistant principal at West Caldwell High School, will serve as principal at West Lenoir. Hollar has been employed in Caldwell County since 2011, as assistant principal at West and as an instructional facilitator at Gamewell Middle, Granite Falls Middle and Oak Hill School.Before that, she held several assistant principal positions for the Burke County Schools. Hollar received bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Appalachian State University.

Felicia Simmons, the former principal of West Lenoir Elementary and a 2012-13 principal of the year nominee, resigned to accept a position with the Burke County Schools.

Michael DeWitt was hired as assistant principal for Hibriten High School. DeWitt has been employed as an assistant principal for the Iredell-Statesville Public Schools since 2011, and prior to that was an assistant principal for the Prince William County Public Schools in Virginia.

DeWitt holds a bachelor’s degree in social science and secondary education from James Madison University, and a master’s degree in government and public administration from the College of William & Mary.

Larry Houk, the previous assistant principal at Hibriten, announced his retirement this year.

Kim Case will serve in a new position: assistant principal at Whitnel Elementary. Whitnel has not had an assistant principal for at least six years, but the position will be reinstated for the 2013-14 school year, Community Services Director Libby Brown said.

Case has been an instructional facilitator for the Caldwell County Schools since 2009, and an employee of the school system since 1988. She holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Appalachian State.

Hollar, DeWitt, and Case were all approved for two-year appointments by the Caldwell County Board of Education on Thursday.